‘Redirected’ by Emilis Vėlyvis nominated for Best Drama Award at UK’s National Film Awards


The National Film Academy (the UK) has announced the nominations for the National Film Awards 2015. The NFA is the only motion picture awards ceremony worldwide to be held in the UK, North America, South America, Australia and Asia with all categories nominated and voted for by movie fans in each territory.

Redirected by Lithuanian director Emilis Vėlyvis,  starring  Vinnie Jones and Scot Williams, competes with another 9 films in the Best Drama category. The film is an outrageous „The hangover“ meets „Snatch“ action-comedy-thriller with distinct Eastern European exotic flare. It tells the story of four friends – John, Ben, Tim and Michael – turned first-time robbers, who, through a series of misadventures, get stranded in an Eastern European country and have to find their way back home. To do so, they’ll have to overcome smugglers, hit men, cheap beer, dirty cops and fantasies, all while rediscovering each other as friends.

This year’s 1st annual National Film Awards 2015 for the UK takes place in London, on the 31st of March 2015.
Nominations for the National Film Awards were submitted by the public between the 1st of December till the 19th of December and the public decides winners of each category by voting on the official Academy website at ( www.nationalfilmawards.co.uk).

Over 756,000 movie fans took to the National Film Awards website to cast their submissions in the 15 categories. Voting officially commences today (12/01/15 until the 12th of March 2015) with winners of each category announced at the star-studded National Film Awards 2015 awards ceremony taking place on the 31st of March 2015 and televised for broadcast on Sky 192 on the 12th of April.

British film, stage and television actress, Dame Judi Dench is set to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Below is a full list of National Film Awards 2015 nominations:

Best International Film
The Imitation Game
The Theory of Everything
Guardian of the Galaxy
Gone Girl
The Fault in Our Stars
Best Comedy
The Inbetweeners 2
Almost married
A Long Way Down
Cuban Fury
Mrs Brown’s Boys D’Movie
What we did on our holiday

Best Action
Slow West
The Railway Man
The Knife That Killed Me
Top Dog
The Guvnors

Best Drama
Half of a Yellow Sun
Jimmy’s Hall
The Fault in Our Stars
The Fold
Starred Up
Mr Turner

Best Independent Feature
One Rogue Reporter
The Newspaper
The Guvnors
Half of A Yellow Sun
Best Documentary
American Interior
Next Goal Wins
NOW: In The Wings On A World Stage
20,000 Days on Earth
Night Will Fall
The Possibilities are Endless
Dispatches: Children on the Frontline
The Stuart Hall Project
Don’t Call Me Crazy

Best Thriller
A Most Wanted Man
Black Sea
Only Lovers Left Alive
The Double
The Riot Club
The Two faces of January

Best Actor
Ben Affleck for “Gone Girl”
André Benjamin for “Jimi: All Is By My Side”
David Oyelowo for “Selma”
James Buckley for “The Inbetweeners 2”
Benedict Cumberbatch for “The Imitation Game”
Tom Felton for “Belle”
Simon Bird for “The Inbetweeners 2”
Jack O’ Connell for “71”
Brenda Gleeson for “Calvary”
Asa Butterfield for “X +Y”
Andrew Scott for “Pride”

Best Actress
Shailene Woodley for “The Fault in Our Stars”
Gugu Mbatha-Raw for “Beyond the Lights”
Quvenzhané Wallis for “Annie”
Sameena Jabeen Ahmed for “Catch Me Daddy”
Cheng Pei Pei for “Lifting”
Alicia Vikander for “Testament of Youth”
Keira Knightley for “Imitation Game”
Imelda Stauton for “Pride”
Dorothy Atkinson for “Mr Turner”
Thandi Newton for “Half of a Yellow Sun”
Best Director
Amma Asante for “Belle”
Mike Leigh for “Mr. Turner”
Yann Demange for “71”
Matthew Warchus for “Pride”
John Michael McDonagh for “Calvary”
Lenny Abrahamson for “Frank”
Philippe Falardeau for “The Good Lie”

Best Screenplay
The Fault in Our Stars
The Theory of Everything
Hello Carter
The Good Lie
Half of a Yellow sun

Best Breakthrough Performance
Gugu Mbatha-Raw for “Belle”
Andrew Scott for “Pride”
Michael Fassbender for “Frank”
Rafe Spall for “X+Y”
Keira Knightley for “Imitation Game”
Reese Witherspoon for “The Good Lie”
Jamie Foxx for “Annie”
Chiwetel Ejiofor for “Half of a Yellow Sun”
Shailene Woodley for “The Fault in our stars”

Best Newcomer
Gugu Mbatha-Raw for “Belle”
Cara Delevigne for “The Face of an Angel”
Liam Walpole for “The Goob”
Kuoth Wiel for “The Good Lie”
Jordan Kensington for “The Newspaper”
Sameena Jabeen Ahmed for “Catch Me Daddy”
Quvenzhané Wallis for “Annie”
Harley Sylvester for “The Guvnors”
Arnold Oceng for “The Good Lie”

Best Foreign Language Film
“Ida” (Poland)
“Force Majeure” (Sweden)
“The Liberator” (Venezuela)
“Accused” (Netherlands)
“Wild Tales” (Argentina)
“Human Capital” (Italy)

Best Short Film
Dinner and a Movie
The Karman Line
Emotional Fusebox
That’s Not Supposed to Happen
Yoke Farm
My Friend Ivor
Public Voting is live now until the 12th of March 2015: